5th grade answers–Part 1

On to the questions for the 5th grade. It looks like the 5th grade is just as inquisitive as the 6th grade was yesterday. That is great! Keep those questions coming.

Dutch

Nathan – Are you Dutch? How tall are you? What kind of vehicle do you drive?

Nathan,

You have such fun questions. I will answer your first question with a picture from a long time ago. Yes, that is me in a Dutch costume at a Tulip Festival. But I have never been to the Netherlands and I don’t speak the language (I know more Spanish that Dutch), so I don’t know if I can be called Dutch!

I wish I was 6’1″ but I am more like 5’11”. Right now I am driving a ’94 Chevy Lumina car. The funny part is that it still has a Town of Lansing sticker on it. It was my wife’s grandmother’s car. Before moving to North Carolina, I drove a ’88 Chevy truck. I knew it wouldn’t make it over the mountains, so I had to sell it. It was a sad day because my brother and I had done a lot of work on the truck–painting, replacing the engine, fixing it. As you can see, I don’t usually drive newer cars. What is your favorite vehicle?

Tim – Where are the places you have lived so far?

Tim,

I was born in Orange City, Iowa, and lived in the town until I was in 2nd grade. We then moved to a farm outside Alton, Iowa. It was a small farm. My family then moved to Willmar, Minnesota, when I was in 7th grade. In 10th grade we moved to Clara City, Minnesota. I then headed off to Dordt College in Sioux Center, Iowa. My first job was in Lafayette, Indiana. I was there for 12 years. Right now I am in Pantego, North Carolina. Some of those places are probably unfamiliar to you, so I am going to try to create a Google Earth file. If you have Google Earth on your computer, you can see all the places I have lived!

Sam – What is your opinion on uniforms for students? Who is your favorite basketball player?

Sam,

It seems like everyone is asking about uniforms! You can read my response to Samuel in 2nd grade student here.

from Wikipedia: E’Twaun Moore, JaJuan Johnson, and Robbie Hummel

My favorite basketball player…..if you are talking NBA, I am going to have to go back to Reggie Miller of the Pacers. I really only watch the NBA when it comes to playoffs, and I really hoped they would beat the Miami Heat. I much prefer to watch college basketball. I grew up an Iowa Hawkeye fan. We would make some popcorn and watch the games on TV. I remember they had a good player by the name of BJ Armstrong. He was a point guard. More recently, as a Purdue fan, I enjoyed watching Robbie Hummel, E’Twaun Moore, JaJuan Johnson, and Chris Kramer.

Greg – What is your birthdate? Where were you born? Have you ever met someone famous?

Greg,

Funny you ask, because as I started writing this I was  finishing up my birthday! So June 4 is my birthday. I was born in Orange City, Iowa.

I really don’t think I have met someone famous. I really need to do that sometime. The closest I got was a baseball player. Are you famous? Would you like to be famous? Have you met someone famous?

Sydney – What church do you go to? What other jobs have you had in your life? If you could BE an animal, what would it be and why?

Sydney,

Deja asked about churches last time. I would love to visit your church sometime. Where do you go to church?

Other jobs–I have done some graphic design work. Basically I used a computer to make interesting pictures. I have worked for a couple of newspapers. In high school and college, I worked for the school newspapers. My first job was detasseling corn. It was hot and sweaty work. Many people quit after a day or two. But I stuck with it.

I would be a bird like an eagle. Very creative question! I have always enjoyed and been amazed by flying. I would like to know what soaring on the wind and updrafts was like. What animal would you want to be?

Tavares – How do you feel about this job? (nervous?, excited?)

Tavares,

There are a lot of emotions going through my mind. I am definitely excited to meet everyone and see what we can do together! There is certainly a bit of nervousness as well. There is a verse from Romans 8, that talks about the Creation (world) waiting in eager expectation. Eager expectation is a good way to describe how I feel right now. I am eager to begin. I expect that the Lord will do great things in your life and through your life. I can’t wait!

