6th grade answers–Day 1

On to the 6th grade’s questions! Just a quick observation about the 6th grade: While most students asked one or two questions, these 6th grade students are asking three to four questions! That is great….the more the better! I will take questions from four students today and come back to the rest another day sometime soon.

Emma-Do you have any kids? Do we have to wear uniforms?

Emma,

I don’t have any kids yet. My wife and I hope to someday. We debate what we will name a boy or a girl. We have different ideas about names we like.

Samuel in 2nd grade asked about uniforms too. You can read the answer I gave him. Do you like the idea of uniforms?

Deja- Will we still have the Fall Festival? What church will you attend? Will you allow any extra sports?

Deja,

I haven’t heard anything about cancelling the Fall Festival. I would love for you to tell me more about it. What is your favorite part of the Festival?

It is hard to pick a church when we are in North Carolina. We will probably visit a number of churches before making a decision. In North Carolina, we have been attending Covenant United Reformed Church. In Lafayette, we were members of Covenant Church. I would love to visit your church sometime. Where do you attend?

As to extra sports, I would love to hear what sports you would like. What sports do you play right now? I see that there is basketball, volleyball, soccer, and track/running. Did I miss any?

Randall- What is your favorite sport? What are your thoughts about more curricular activities for younger grades? What made you want to come to Lansing Christian? What is your favorite book?

Randall,

My favorite sport to play is basketball. In Lafayette, there was a group of guys that met every week to play basketball. I miss doing that. In high school and college, I coached some basketball teams. I enjoy watching football. I also enjoy playing baseball, although I haven’t played it since high school except for some softball games here and there.

I haven’t had a chance to look at all the curricular offerings yet, so that is a difficult question. I like it when students have many different opportunities to explore who God is making them to be. As a student, I remember being involved with Awesome Authors, MathCounts, Knowledge Bowl, yearbook, newspapers, National Geographic Bee, and spelling bees. Those experiences helped form who God was making me to be. What do you think  we should have in the lower grades?

Many of the 4th grade students asked this same question, Randall. You can read my answer on a previous post.

My favorite book……I have to start with the Bible. It is the single story of God’s work to rescue us from our sin and bring us to himself. There is no better true story! After that, I would have to say that my reading gets very random. In college I was having a bad day, and a friend gave me Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.  It always brings a smile to my face now! I have enjoyed books by authors such as RC Sproul and Os Guinness. I am looking for books to read this summer. What do you suggest?

Olufemi – Will we still have the skating party? What do you like to do in your spare time? What made you want to become a principal?

Olufemi,

A skating party sounds like a great idea. I haven’t heard about the skating party yet. Could you tell me more about it?

In my spare time, I like to read and work outside or on the house. I am always fixing on something, so there are plenty of projects. Two weeks ago my riding lawn mower stopped moving. The blade would spin, but it wouldn’t move forward. So I took it apart and found the chain that broke. It was a very greasy job. But I put it all back together and it works! What do you like to do outside of school?

Tyler and Austin in 4th grade also asked why I wanted to become a principal. You can read my response to them here.

