Greetings Lansing Christian!

PostmaRight now our house is full of packed and half-packed boxes. There is organization, but we always have to warn our visitors. I can’t express how excited my wife, Lora, and I are for the middle of June to arrive. It seems like forever ago that we were walking the halls of Lansing Christian School for the first time. We enjoyed meeting the teachers, staff, parents, and students! We can’t wait to begin our trek from Eastern North Carolina to Lansing.

I am excited to be a part of the Lansing Christian School community. I have sat in on two Board meetings via Skype, read committee reports, and paged through the handbook. Everyone, especially Mr. Holwerda,  has been very kind in passing on any information I have requested. There are ideas that are starting to take shape. The possibilities are exciting! I can’t wait to see what God will do in and through Lansing Christian School in the months and years to come.

For those of you who would like to get to know Lora and me more, I am currently the Principal of Terra Ceia Christian School in Pantego, North Carolina. It is a PreK through 12 school that has just celebrated 75 years of Christ-centered education. Lora is currently teaching 3rd grade.

Previously we were at Lafayette Christian School in Indiana. From now on, whenever I say LCS, I may have to clarify what the “L” stands for…..Lansing or Lafayette! Lafayette Christian is a PK-8th school. I was there for 12 years, starting as a 5th-8th grade math teacher and gradually transitioning to the role of technology director. Lora taught 1st grade in Lafayette. It was at Lafayette Christian where Lora and I met and got married.

I graduated from Dordt College. While in Lafayette, I pursued a Master’s degree in Mathematics Education from Purdue University. It was then that I started following Purdue football. The last few years have been rough, but I still have good memories of the Drew Brees days. A few years after my Master’s degree, I pursued an administrative certification from Johns Hopkins University. Lora is a graduate of Trinity Christian College and enjoys travelling. Name a country, and there is a good chance she has been there.

We are in the process of purchasing a house in Munster. Purchasing a house from this far away has had its challenges! Please pray that everything gets finalized on time. Lora has taken a position teaching 2nd grade at Crown Point Christian. It will be the first time we have been in different schools.

Lord willing, we will be making our move the 3rd week of June. Just before our move, we will be on vacation with family on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We fit quite a few people in one beach house. I know it will be just the relaxation we need before the craziness of moving week. We should be arriving around the 20th or 21st of June if all goes well.

I hope to have students pose some questions for me to answer over the summer. If you would like to ask me some questions, feel free to email me at jpostma@lansingchristian.org. 

Could I ask you to tell me some stories of Lansing Christian?

My grandfather was born and lived his entire life on a 180-acre farm in Northwest Iowa. He didn’t have more than a high school education, but he loved reading, especially history. I grew up listening to his stories of days gone by, explorations of the Bible, and commentary on current events, leading me to have a bent toward them as well. With that background, can you tell me a story of Lansing Christian’s history, how God has worked in or through the School, or celebrate what is currently happening? Click on the “Leave A Reply” link below to tell your story. Thanks for sharing!

